How to find lucrative work in Canada

Canada Contracting Jobs:  Learn what to ask before taking the big leap!


Canada Contracting Jobs are available throughout the country and often very lucrative. Positions are available from food services, engineering, construction and more. Many people are taking advantage of these opportunities to make three and three times their normal salary.

However, before you take that big step make sure that you are informed. Know what questions to ask and have a good understanding before you make a life changing transition.

Hi, my name is Marisol and it wasn’t long ago when I was considering a contracting position in North America ( either USA or Canada). I had a lot of questions and no definitive guide to help me through it. I had a general idea of of what to expect and knew that I could make a lot  of money because I had friends in the region, but there were some questions that went unanswered and I ended up taking the plunge on blind faith. I first started and work in the USA and then move to Canada, where I actually live and work.

Fortunately for me, it worked out and I spent a couple of years working in North Carolina (NC). But, I did see a lot of people who were making significantly less money, only because they didn’t know what questions to ask or what to negotiate for before accepting that position. I also saw many arrive only to be very disappointed at the environment or living conditions.

This is why I created  Canada Contracting Jobs Listings throught Hineni Media   subscription area,  I know that there are a lot of people looking for opportunities, particularly in today’s economy. I hope that this site will serve as a good resource for you and explain the things you need to know before even considering quitting your current job.
Job checklist

At a minimum, these are some of the things you will want to know before traveling to Canada. Each situation is different, so if you have any questions send me a message through the contact page on this site.

Facility Access

Will I have access to the exchange stores, dining facilities and  Recreation facilities? You might think this would be assumed, where else are you going to go, but not all contractors are allowed access to the US or Canada dining facilities. Some non-US or non-Canada contractors must eat in their own dining facilities.

Living quarters
What type of living quarters will I have? Will I be living in a tent or trailer? Will I have a roommate? Is it a “wet trailer”? Meaning it has running water or a “dry trailer” meaning it doesn’t. Most don’t.

Does the contract provide a trailer for its own employees? Some companies have purchased and installed living quarters for their own employees including wet trailers. It can make all the difference.
Medical Care
Is basic medical care covered as part of the contract? It sounds obvious, what else are you going to do, but check to make sure.

Salary
What is the base salary? Is overtime included and if so how many hours a week? I don’t know about you, but I wanted to work every hour that I could, which was the whole point.

What kind of bonuses are included and when are they paid? Sometimes these are paid up front, at the end of the tour or incrementally throughout the year.

Is a paid trip home included? Some companies will provide a return trip home half way through the contract or even quarterly.

Vehicles
Will you have use of a vehicle on post? A vehicle is not always necessary, but it sure comes in handy.

The Contract
What is the length of the contract? This is important as you don’t want to quit your job at home and travel to Canada for a lucrative opportunity only to find out that the contract is up for a rebid.

 Want to read more? Subscribe to http://www.hinenimedia.memberlodge.org/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

